Favorite Things…Winter Edition

I am going to be dead honest, there are very few things that I enjoy about the winter.  Some may enjoy the sight of freshly fallen snow and may daydream of cozying up to a warm body while sipping hot chocolate on a bear skin rug by the fire but, to me,  it just makes me nauseous and nostalgic for those 101 degree, summer days.  There was a brief time when I went gaga over Christmas but I think we can all agree, when you get older the Christmas gimmicks start to work your nerves…hard. Who the hell wants to hear Christmas music on the radio and in retail stores before Halloween is even over?!  Not me.  Over the years, I have come to accept the fact that I was born on the wrong coast and have developed a slight “like” for some winter aspects.  Here is that (short) list 🙂

Hot Chocolate & Marshmallows

Okay, I love hot chocolate.  I LOOOVVEEEEEEEE hot chocolate a lot and I especially love topping off  my mug with fresh marshmallows!!  I’m not talking about freeze-dried, mini mallows either.  I’m talking about big, fresh, fluffy marshmallows!  If you’ve ever been interested in making your own marshmallows for garnish or just to eat by the handful, check out YumSugar.com to see how!

Ugg Boots

I used to have a serious love/hate relationships with Ugg boots.  From the moment I  slipped my foot into one of those bad boys, I loved the way they looked and how warm they made my feet.  Warmth for you little piggy’s  is imperative when you live in a region where temperatures constantly drop to “something-below-zero degrees” outside.  Unfortunately, lazy women took Uggs and started the absolute WORST styling trend I’ve ever seen in my life.  Any girl who goes out with a pair of sweatpants sloppily tucked into a pair of Uggs and a lackadaisical, messy bun perched on the crown of your head, you do not look cute, I repeat YOU DO NOT LOOK CUTE! (Example 1, 2 & 3 )  You JUST look homeless, I don’t care how much you spent on those boots.  Because of that,  I refused to buy a pair of Uggs for the longest time.  After a few years I dropped the Ugg embargo.   Living through a lifetime of  New Jersey winters can break anyone down.  Now that I’ve officially sold out, I just make sure to style my Uggs with impeccable outfits.   These are my favorite new styles and a few classics that go with anything (expect sweatpants!)

Elissa $260 Click to Shop!
Over the Knee Bailey Sparkle $350 Click to Shop!
Kensington $220 Click to Shop!

Pumpkin spice lattes @ Starbucks 

Nuff said.  If you have never had one, I do not know what you are doing with your life, I really don’t.  RUN to Starbucks now and enjoy the magic.

Winter Vacation

Santa Monica

Sometimes your psyche needs an escape from the dark cloud that is Winter, Christmas chaos and…did I mention the crap weather?  Winter vacation is the perfect fix for that!  My birthday just so happens to fall  in the dead of winter…and It sucks.  Any kid with a February birthday can tell you how much it sucks because your birthday parties are ALWAYS canceled due to snow. Huge bummer.  When I got older, I wised up and started migrating west and having my birthday parties in LA.  I used my new-found appreciation for winter vacation as an excuse to travel for my birthday.  Now, my parties have a better turn out and all of my friends want to join in the celebration 🙂

The birthday girl and her ladies @ LAX

Santa Monica Pier in February...much better than snow!

Family

Grandma and the Kids

My family is the most important things in my life.  Not just around the holiday season, but always.  Unfortunately I don’t get to see them as much as I would like because of hectic schedules and life just generally getting in the way.  I would love to take frequent time-outs to gather all of my family for a nice meal and conversation, but that rarely happens.  Holidays are a great time when I get to reunite with everyone, especially my father since he lives quite far away.  I am a daddy’s girl till I die!  Even as an adult, being far away from him sucks but every December I get one full day when it’s just me, my dad and Sunday football.  Life just doesn’t get any better than that.

Me and my awesome Dad
Me and my beautiful Mother!

Giving to Charities

Most of us tend to get wrapped up in the wrong things come winter.  There is no reason to worry about shopping on Black Friday, buying presents, impressing in-laws and whatever other nonsense that troubles our thoughts this time of year.  Winter tends to drive people legitimately crazy, so don’t get caught up in the madness!  I find it helpful to take a step back, take a look around you and just be thankful for what you have and even for what you don’t.  There are millions of people on this planet who are less fortunate than you and I and they need our help, now more than ever.  The winter brings cold,darkness and hunger to a lot of families who are struggling in these tough economic times.  Find time this winter to donate clothes, coats, jackets, food…whatever you can.  We must remember, this is the season of giving, not receiving.

Season’s Greetings everyone!  xoxo

4 thoughts on “Favorite Things…Winter Edition

  1. Kg November 28, 2011 / 3:59 PM

    LOL you are so funny…uggs and sweat pants…i still haven’t switched over to the dark side…i don’t think i ever could…but then again i haven’t dipped my toes into the ugg’s deep waters yet..

    • Vive La Luxe November 30, 2011 / 1:09 AM

      Uggs are wonderful, when they’re done with taste!

  2. Jaime Mathis November 29, 2011 / 2:56 PM

    I, too, fell victim to the Ugg, as you are well aware… Unless you’re walking your mismatched ass to the mailbox to get the mail and back inside, NO ONE should wear them tucked into big, baggy, purple sweatpants.

Leave a Reply

